Home / Business / The highest-paid CEOs by state
FILE - In this March 27, 2015 file photo, ExxonMobil CEO Rex Tillerson delivers remarks on the release of a report by the National Petroleum Council on oil drilling in the Arctic, in Washington. The oil industry is ready to safely tap the oil and gas in the U.S. Arctic, despite the risks and the industry’s history of mishaps, Tillerson said in an exclusive interview with The Associated Press. (AP Photo/Evan Vucci, File)

The highest-paid CEOs by state

Here are the top-paid CEOs by state for 2015, as calculated by The Associated Press and Equilar, an executive data firm.

The survey considered public companies with at least $1 billion in revenue that filed proxy statements with federal regulators on or before April 30, 2016. It includes CEOs who were newly hired, who often receive large grants as incentives. It does not include data for Alaska, Montana or West Virginia.

This tally includes a wider group of companies than The AP’s other lists of top-paid CEOs for 2015, which include only executives in the Standard & Poor’s 500 index who have been at their post for at least two years, among other differences in criteria.

Alabama – Jay Grinney, HealthSouth, $7.8 million

Arizona – Don Slager, Republic Services, $10.9 million

Arkansas – Doug McMillon, Wal-Mart Stores, $19.8 million

California – Mark Hurd, Oracle, $53.2 million

Colorado – Gregory Maffei, Liberty Media & Liberty Interactive, $27 million

Connecticut – Ari Bousbib, IMS Health Holdings, $34.5 million

Delaware – Edward Breen, DuPont, $10 million

Florida – Howard Lorber, Vector Group, $37 million

Georgia – Martin Flanagan, Invesco, $15.9 million

Hawaii – Matthew Cox, Matson, $4.4 million

Idaho – D. Mark Durcan, Micron Technology, $9.4 million

Illinois – Sandeep Mathrani, General Growth Properties, $39.2 million

Indiana – John Lechleiter, Eli Lilly and Company, $16.6 million

Iowa – Kelly Ortberg, Rockwell Collins, $7 million

Kansas – Larry Lawson, Spirit AeroSystems Holdings, $10.4 million

Kentucky – Scott Thompson, Tempur Sealy International, $23.3 million

Louisiana – Glen Post III, CenturyLink, $10.3 million

Maine – Jonathan Ayers, IDEXX Laboratories, $4.8 million

Maryland – David Zaslav, Discovery Communications, $32.4 million

Massachusetts – Jeffrey Leiden, Vertex Pharmaceuticals , $28.1 million

Michigan – Mary Barra, General Motors , $28.6 million

Minnesota – James Cracchiolo, Ameriprise Financial, $19.4 million

Mississippi – Joe Sanderson Jr., Sanderson Farms, $6 million

Missouri – Michael FNeidorff, Centene, $20.8 million

Nebraska – Lance Fritz, Union Pacific , $9.1 million

Nevada – Stephen Wynn, Wynn Resorts, $20.7 million

New Hampshire – Timothy McGrath, PC Connection, $1.9 million

New Jersey – David Cote, Honeywell International , $33.8 million

New Mexico – Patricia Collawn, PNM Resources, $5.2 million

New York – Leslie Moonves, CBS, $56.4 million

North Carolina – Brian Moynihan, Bank of America , $13.8 million

North Dakota – David Goodin, MDU Resources Group, $2.6 million

Ohio – Leslie Wexner, L Brands, $27.2 million

Oklahoma – Rober Lawler, Chesapeake Energy, $15.4 million

Oregon – Mark Parker, Nike, $16.8 million

Pennsylvania – Brian Roberts, Comcast, $36.2 million

Rhode Island – Larry Merlo, CVS Health, $22.9 million

South Carolina – John Williams, Domtar, $6.7 million

South Dakota – David Emery, Black Hills, $2.8 million

Tennessee – William Carpenter III, LifePoint Health, $15.2 million

Texas – Rex Tillerson, Exxon Mobil, $24.3 million

Utah – Peter Huntsman, Huntsman, $11.5 million

Vermont – Brian Kelley , Keurig Green Mountain, $6.1 million

Virginia – PhebeNovakovic, General Dynamics, $20.4 million

Washington – Dara Khosrowshahi, Expedia, $94.6 million

Washington, D.C. – Thomas Joyce Jr., Danaher, $10.6 million

Wisconsin – Alex Molinaroli, Johnson Controls, $17.2 million

Wyoming – Colin Marshall, Cloud Peak Energy, $4.2 million

In related news, Exxon, Chevron shareholders reject climate resolutions.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *